Skip to main content

Primary Responsibilities

The primary responsibilities of the emergency management division are dictated by the Emergency Management Services Code, and include the following, among others:


1. To prepare, maintain and keep current an Emergency Operations Plan (EOP).

2. To establish, equip and staff an Emergency Operations Center (EOC), consolidated with warning and communications systems.

3. To organize, prepare and coordinate all locally available manpower, materials, supplies, equipment, facilities and services necessary for disaster emergency readiness, response and recovery.

4. Provide prompt and accurate information regarding local emergencies to appropriate Commonwealth and local officials and agencies and the general public.


The Department's powers and duties are prescribed by a host of State and Federal legislative acts, including the following:

Each legislative act dictates to a varying degree of responsibility of county government. These responsibilities may require only a mandate to report, or may charge the Department with direction and control.


EMA Administrative Offices:
610-782-4600 (Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. prevailing Eastern Time)
610-782-4610 (Facsimile)
Mailing Address:
Lehigh County EMA
640 W. Hamilton Street, 8th Floor
Allentown, PA 18101

9-1-1 Communications Center:
For non-emergency calls or questions
610-782-4659 (Facsimile)
Mailing Address:
Lehigh County 9-1-1
640 W. Hamilton Street, 10th Floor
Allentown, PA 18101





Radiation Protection Act
Public Safety Emergency Telephone Act
Hazardous Material Emergency Planning & Response Act
Pennsylvania Clean Streams Law
Solid Waste Management Act
Pennsylvania Storage Tank and Spill Prevention Act
Federal Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act
Dam Safety & Encroachment Act
Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief & Emergency Assistance Act
Aboveground Storage Tank Law
Clean Air Act