Section Links

Government Center
Room 440
17 South Seventh Street
Allentown, Pa. 18101-2400
Phone: 610-782-3180
Fax: 610-871-2796


Department of Law

Thomas M. Caffrey, County Solicitor

The County Solicitor, as chief legal officer, and the Department of Law are charged with representing the County in all legal matters.

The department also drafts or reviews ordinances presented to the Board of Commissioners for consideration and the more than 2,700 contracts the County enters into annually. It has an ongoing responsibility to answer legal questions and to give legal advice to elected officials, department and bureau heads