APPROVED

LEHIGH COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS Organizational Meeting

January 7, 2013 7:30 p.m.

The Organizational Meeting of the Lehigh County Board of Commissioners was held on this date in the Public Hearing Room of the Lehigh County Government Center with Brad Osborne presiding as Chair.

Members Present: Commissioners Thomas Creighton, Percy Dougherty, David Jones,

Sr., Daniel McCarthy, Vic Mazziotti, Brad Osborne, Scott Ott,

Lisa Scheller, and Michael Schware.

Others Present: Valerie Hildebeitel, Deputy Clerk to the Board; Catharine Roseberry,

Deputy Solicitor; and David Barilla, Clerk to the Board.

Commissioner Osborne called the meeting to order. There was no <u>Citizens Input</u> at this time.

Nomination and Election of Chairperson of the Board of Commissioners for 2013

Commissioner Osborne said the process is that names will be placed in nomination for the position of Chairperson. He said when nominations are finished he will entertain a motion to close nominations. He said he will then take a roll call vote. He said Commissioners will vote by stating the name of the person they support for Chairperson.

Nominations

Commissioner Osborne asked for nominations for the election of the Chairperson of the Board of Commissioners.

Commissioner Dougherty nominated Commissioner Osborne.

Commissioner Ott nominated Commissioner Scheller.

With no further nominations, Commissioner Osborne asked for a motion to close nominations. Nominations were closed upon the motion of Commissioners Dougherty and Schware and a unanimous voice vote.

The Clerk said he has received forms from both candidates to waive the additional compensation of Chairperson so all nine Commissioners are eligible to vote.

Commissioner Scheller was elected Chairperson of the Board of Commissioners by the following vote:

- Creighton Commissioner Scheller
- Dougherty Commissioner Osborne
- Jones Commissioner Osborne
- McCarthy Commissioner Osborne
- Osborne Commissioner Osborne
- Mazziotti Commissioner Scheller
- Ott Commissioner Scheller
- Scheller Commissioner Scheller
- Schware Commissioner Scheller.

The clerk announced five votes in favor of Commissioner Scheller and four votes in favor of Commissioner Osborne.

Nomination and Election of Vice Chairperson of the Board of Commissioners for 2013

Nominations

Commissioner Osborne asked for nominations for the election of the Vice Chairperson of the Board of Commissioners.

Commissioner Mazziotti nominated Commissioner Ott.

Commissioner Osborne nominated Commissioner Dougherty.

With no further nominations, Commissioner Osborne asked for a motion to close nominations. Nominations were closed upon the motion of Commissioners Jones and Scheller and a unanimous voice vote.

Commissioner Ott was elected Vice Chairperson of the Board of Commissioners by the following vote:

- Dougherty Commissioner Dougherty
- Jones Commissioner Dougherty
- McCarthy Commissioner Dougherty
- Osborne Commissioner Dougherty
- Mazziotti Commissioner Ott
- Ott Commissioner Ott
- Scheller Commissioner Ott
- Schware Commissioner Ott
- Creighton Commissioner Ott

The clerk announced five votes in favor of Commissioner Ott and four votes in favor of Commissioner Dougherty.

Schedule of Meetings for 2013

Commissioner Osborne said the last scheduled subject is a motion to approve the 2013 meeting schedule that was distributed to all Commissioners for input.

Commissioner McCarthy made the following motion: that the Lehigh County Board of Commissioners meet twice each month during calendar year 2013 as required by the Lehigh County Home Rule Charter. The Board will meet on the second and fourth Wednesdays of the month at 7:30 p.m. in the Public Hearing Room of the Lehigh County Government Center with the following exceptions: the second meeting in November will be held on Tuesday, November 26, 2013 and the second meeting in December will be held on Wednesday, December 18, 2013. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Ott and approved by a unanimous voice vote.

Under <u>Commissioner Announcements</u>, Commissioner Scheller thanked Commissioner Osborne for his service over the past year as Chair. She said she humbly looks forward to continuing the tradition of working well with the county and continuing the work that Commissioner Osborne has started.

Commissioner Osborne said it has been an honor to represent this Board. He said the work that we have to do is the business of the people. He thanked the Commissioners for their support to allow him to have the opportunity to serve in this position.

There was no Citizens Input at this time.

The meeting adjourned at 7:40 p.m.

David Barilla, Clerk to the Board